Agenda

Monday, Oct 5

Sessions

 

Chair's Welcome

Monday, October 5: 8:50 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. (PT) / 11:50 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. (ET)

Content Delivery Summit chair Dom Robinson sets out the overall narrative for the day's discussions and introduces the panel moderators.

Speaker:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK

 

Opening Keynote : Locating, Powering and Connecting POPs

Monday, October 5: 9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. (PT) / 12:00 p.m. - 12:30 p.m. (ET)

Our keynote will focus on the challenges faced by the largest content publishers as they scale up to meet real-world demand and will ground the day's discussions by helping us understand the complexity—both technical and economic—of locating content delivery infrastructure with regards to their power supply, fiber access, contribution, interconnection, operation, and delivery to metropolitan networks and consumers.

Speaker:

, CTO, Birch Infrastructure

 

Energy, Submarine, Fiber Carrier Interconnect

Monday, October 5: 9:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. (PT) / 12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. (ET)

This session expands on the keynote and will focus on the real-world availability of these fundamental infrastructure services that underpin all CDN operations, as well as complexities to consider when deploying POPs around the world.

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speakers:

, COO, Seaborn Networks

, CEO, NJFX

, Director, Connectivity, InterXion

 

Core IP Strategies

Monday, October 5: 10:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. (PT) / 1:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. (ET)

As a discussion about carrier connectivity and IP network availability for CDN services around the U.S. and the global market as a whole, this session will explore the current transit and peering market around the world and look at optimal paths for varying scales of CDN deployment, including in-housing and outsourcing bandwidth services.

Moderator:

, CEO, Axello


Speakers:

, Head of Global Business, Internet, Content & Security Solutions, Deutsche Telekom Global Carrier

, Senior Director, Product Management, CenturyLink

, Head of Global Internet Strategy, Telstra

 

Break

Monday, October 5: 10:30 a.m. - 10:50 a.m. (PT) / 1:30 p.m. - 1:50 p.m. (ET)

 

Compute/Memory and Storage/FPGA/High Density

Monday, October 5: 10:50 a.m. - 11:20 a.m. (PT) / 1:50 p.m. - 2:20 p.m. (ET)

Silicon is a key element of any distributed compute strategy. In the CDN market, the option to offload "heavy math" to GPUs and FPGAs is crucial to achieving low power requirements and higher density. This panel will explore the options that are emerging and the applications that they can address in the CDN, from video encoding to edge AI and VR.

Moderator:

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream, USA


Speakers:

, Video Algorithms, Xilinx

, Director, Visual Cloud, Content Delivery Network Segment, Intel

, Senior Manager of Global Business Development, XR at NVIDIA, and Product Manager, NVIDIA CloudXR™

, Director Product Management, Kontron

 

Operator CDN / Mobile, Telco, Cable and Satellite

Monday, October 5: 11:20 a.m. - 11:50 a.m. (PT) / 2:20 p.m. - 2:50 p.m. (ET)

Telcos are ever diversifying their video service offerings to consumers, cable is leveraging DOCSIS and Multicast ABR and the mobile and satellite markets are all driving some significant strides in the innovation in the service layer. We talk to several sector experts about these emerging technologies, what they are and how they work, and how they will drive new offerings for the CDN to provide to the consumer.

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speakers:

, VP of Product Management, Synamedia

, Independent Digital Network Consultant

, VP Business Development, Broadpeak

 

Break

Monday, October 5: 11:50 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. (PT) / 2:50 p.m. - 3:45 p.m. (ET)

 

Keynote: Update on Streaming Video Alliance activities related to CDNs

Monday, October 5: 12:45 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. (PT) / 3:45 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. (ET)

Now we have looked at CDN underpinnings and infrastructure, we move up the stack to look at the applied CDN as it is today. Our afternoon keynote looks deeply into how content publishers and CDNs can work together to ensure the best possible service delivery to the end consumer.

Speaker:

, Executive Director, Streaming Video Alliance, USA

 

Layer 4 in the CDN—Caching/Media Serving/Compute

Monday, October 5: 1:15 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. (PT) / 4:15 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. (ET)

Following on from his Keynote JT has invited some key participants from those CDN-related SVA activities to help give some business context about why these innovations are important to them, and builds on the details in JT’s keynote to explain not just ‘what’ the SVA projects are doing, but help the audience understand why.

Moderator:

, Executive Director, Streaming Video Alliance, USA


Speaker:

, Director CDN Technology, Disney+

 

Video Workflow Evolution Within the CDN

Monday, October 5: 1:45 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. (PT) / 4:45 p.m. - 5:15 p.m. (ET)

This regular feature session forms the heart of CDS. We talk to some of the largest global CDNs about their strategies, successes, and challenges in meeting the ever-growing demand for high-quality video. As one of the most "holistic" CDN sessions of the day, it will be very pertinent to the larger Streaming Media West Connect audience as well.

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speakers:

, Chief Architect, Media Cloud Engineering, Akamai Technologies

, Director Solutions Engineering, Media & Entertainment, Verizon Digital Media Service

, Vice President of Edge Strategy & Solution Architecture, Limelight Networks

 

Break

Monday, October 5: 2:15 p.m. - 2:40 p.m. (PT) / 5:15 p.m. - 5:40 p.m. (ET)

 

CDN Management/Operating at Scale: Orchestration and Operations

Monday, October 5: 2:40 p.m. - 3:10 p.m. (PT) / 5:40 p.m. - 6:10 p.m. (ET)

Today’s CDN infrastructure is coordinated and serviced by a complex distributed computing environment. This session will explore different ways that the orchestration and operation of these environments can be achieved.

Moderator:

, CEO, Axello


Speakers:

, Head of Digital Infrastructure, MBC

, Chief Product and Technology Officer (CPO & CTO), Edgeware AB

, Chief Marketing and Product Officer, Velocix

 

QoS Management and CDN Switching

Monday, October 5: 3:10 p.m. - 3:40 p.m. (PT) / 6:10 p.m. - 6:40 p.m. (ET)

Multi-CDN has been a "thing" for a number of years now. Latency is also a hot buzzword, and buffering remains the enemy of all of us (particularly our kids)! We talk to a group of experts who are focused specifically on ensuring that publishers, CDNs, and telcos can provide the best quality of service to the consumer.

Moderator:

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream, USA


Speakers:

, CEO & Co-Founder, Touchstream

, Principal Engineer, NS1

, Managing Director, Leaseweb CDN B.V.

, CSO, NPAW

 

Future Briefings—Edge Compute and the CDN

Monday, October 5: 3:40 p.m. - 4:10 p.m. (PT) / 6:40 p.m. - 7:10 p.m. (ET)

CrunchyRoll’s playback orchestration at edge using Cloudfront and Lambda@Edge

Speakers:

, Mellish Principal Edge Go To Market Specialist, AWS Amazon Web Services

, VP Engineering, Crunchyroll

 

Next Generation CDN Service Evolution 1: (Market Evolutions)

Monday, October 5: 4:10 p.m. - 4:25 p.m. (PT) / 7:10 p.m. - 7:25 p.m. (ET)

The first session helps us understand the evolution of the Asian Market.

Speaker:

, Senior Director of Products & Solutions Engineering, BasihanCloud

 

Next Generation CDN Service Evolution 2: (Implementation Strategies)

Monday, October 5: 4:25 p.m. - 4:40 p.m. (PT) / 7:25 p.m. - 7:40 p.m. (ET)

The second session gives a broad technical overview of real implementation use cases bringing together many of the technologies we have seen throughout the Content Delivery Summit

Speaker:

, Tech Director, Media Practice, Globant

 

Closing Fireside Chat

Monday, October 5: 4:40 p.m. - 5:20 p.m. (PT) / 7:40 p.m. - 8:20 p.m. (ET)

The Content Delivery Summit chair and moderators join in for a recap of the day's key takeaways and analysis of the top opportunities and challenges facing the content delivery space. They will also take questions from the floor to ensure that all delegates have had a chance to raise any topics of interest. At the end of the panel, we'll transition to an open discussion and encourage virtual networking among attendees.

Moderator:

, VP & Editor-in-Chief, Streaming Media


Speakers:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK

, Executive Director, Streaming Video Alliance, USA

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream, USA

, CEO, Axello

Don't Miss These Special Online Events