Content Delivery Summit 2020 Program

Monday, Jun 1

Sessions

 

Chairman's Welcome

Monday, June 1: 8:50 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. (ET) / 5:50 a.m. - 6:00 a.m. (PT)

Dom Robinson introduces the day, and the panel moderators, and sets out the overall narrative for the day's discussions.

 

Opening Keynote

Monday, June 1: 9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. (ET) / 6:00 a.m. - 6:30 a.m. (PT)

Globoplay platform changes the way that millions of Brazilians are watching soap operas, series and TV Shows in Brazil, leveraging a new type of business and digital distribution for Globo.

Technology Project Coordinator Jonas Ribeiro opens the Content Delivery Summit with an holistic look at how this major broadcaster has adapted to deliver an OTT offering to millions of brazilians. This will help us create a complete picture of the Content Delivery ecosystem as a foundation for the day's discussions

Speaker:

, Technology Project Coordinator, Globo

 

Energy, Submarine, Fiber Carrier Interconnect

Monday, June 1: 9:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. (ET) / 6:30 a.m. - 7:00 a.m. (PT)

Building off of the keynote, this session will focus on the real-world availability of the fundamental infrastructure services that underpin all CDN operations, as well as the complexities to consider when deploying POPs around the world.

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speakers:

, Global Sales Executive, Emerging Technologies, Edge Infrastructure, EdgeConneX

, Strategic Account Executive, Schneider Electric

, General Manager, NJFX

, COO, Seaborn Networks

 

Core IP Strategies

Monday, June 1: 10:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. (ET) / 7:00 a.m. - 7:30 a.m. (PT)

A discussion about carrier connectivity and IP network availability for CDN services in the U.S. and across the globe, this session will explore the current international transit and peering market and look at optimal paths for varying scales of CDN deployment—including in-housing and out-sourcing bandwidth services.

Moderator:

, CEO, Axello


Speakers:

, Senior Director, Product Management, CenturyLink

, Global Evangelist, G-Core Labs

, Director Media Delivery, Charter Communications

, Director Solutions Engineering, Media & Entertainment, Verizon Media

, OTT Content Delivery Expert, Disney + and ESPN +

 

Break Sponsored by Seaborn Networks

Monday, June 1: 10:30 a.m. - 10:50 a.m. (ET) / 7:30 a.m. - 7:50 a.m. (PT)

 

Compute/Memory and Storage/FPGA/High Density

Monday, June 1: 10:50 a.m. - 11:20 a.m. (ET) / 7:50 a.m. - 8:20 a.m. (PT)

Silicon is a key element of any distributed compute strategy. In the CDN market, the option to offload "heavy math" to graphics processing units and field-programmable gate arrays is central to achieving low power requirements and higher density. This panel will explore the emerging options and the applications they can address in the CDN, from video encoding to edge AI and VR.

Moderator:

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream, USA


Speakers:

, Director, Visual Cloud, Content Delivery Network Segment, Intel

, CTO, HellaStorm, Inc.

, Global Business Development, XR, NVIDIA

 

Non-Fixed Layer 2 (Cellular and Satellite)/ATSC3.0/M-ABR/5G/LTE-B

Monday, June 1: 11:20 a.m. - 11:50 a.m. (ET) / 8:20 a.m. - 8:50 a.m. (PT)

The non-fixed (mobile and wireless) telecoms market is driving some significant strides in innovation in the service layer. We talk to three sector experts about these emerging technologies, how they work, and how they will drive new offerings for the CDN to provide to the consumer.

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speakers:

, Broadcast Solutions Manager, Synamedia

, Director of Mobile Strategy, BT Sport

, Senior Engineer, Product Development, Verizon Wireless

 

Break Sponsored by Fastly, Inc.

Monday, June 1: 11:50 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. (ET) / 8:50 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. (PT)

 

Keynote: CDN Innovation

Monday, June 1: 12:45 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. (ET) / 9:45 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. (PT)

A presentation by a lead engineer for a major OTT sports platform who works with many of the world’s CDNs, this session looks at the engineering of a distribution workflow that minimizes encoding while leveraging packaging strategies to maximize device reach through CDNs. 

Speaker:

, Engineering Lead, VOD Encoding & Operations, fuboTV

 

Delivering Video at Scale

Monday, June 1: 1:15 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. (ET) / 10:15 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. (PT)

In this session we talk to three of the largest global CDNs about their strategies, successes, and challenges in meeting the ever-growing demand for high-quality video. This will be one of the most "holistic" CDN sessions of the day, and very pertinent to our co-located Streaming Media East audience.

Moderator:

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream, USA


Speakers:

, Senior Director of Content Delivery and Edge Compute, Limelight Networks

, Senior Sales Engineer, EMEA, Fastly

, Principal Architect, Akamai Technologies

 

LinkedIn’s Content Delivery Strategy

Monday, June 1: 1:45 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. (ET) / 10:45 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. (PT)

In what is essentially a real-world case study, this session will be a deep dive into a major social networking platform's CDN requirements and how the team ensures it works smoothly and delivers the wide range of content used by more than 600 million people to help businesses stay connected!

Speaker:

, Senior Edge SRE, LinkedIn

 

Break Sponsored by Limelight Networks

Monday, June 1: 2:15 p.m. - 2:40 p.m. (ET) / 11:15 a.m. - 11:40 a.m. (PT)

 

CDN Management/Operating at Scale: Orchestration and Operations

Monday, June 1: 2:40 p.m. - 3:10 p.m. (ET) / 11:40 a.m. - 12:10 p.m. (PT)

A deep dive into complexity theory and the optimization of the speed of computing in parallel over large distributed networks, this session will be of considerable value to CDN operators who are making decisions about the loading of resources across their networks.

Speaker:

, Director of Performance Engineering Platform, StackPath

 

Quality of Service (QoS) Management

Monday, June 1: 3:10 p.m. - 3:40 p.m. (ET) / 12:10 p.m. - 12:40 p.m. (PT)

Multi-CDN has been a "thing" for a number of years, latency remains a buzzword, and buffering is the enemy of us all (especially if we have kids)! We talk to a group of experts who are focused specifically on ensuring that publishers, CDNs, and telcos can provide the best quality of service to the consumer.

Moderator:

, CEO, Axello


Speakers:

, Product Manager, NS1

, VP, Product, Content Delivery Services, CenturyLink

, Director of Product Management, Telestream

, Platform Solutions Architect, Zype

 

Future Briefing—Edge Compute and the CDN: Service Creation Opportunities

Monday, June 1: 3:40 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. (ET) / 12:40 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. (PT)

Edge compute use cases today are based on either real-time, latency-sensitive, and high-bandwidth processing of data, and/or enablement of enterprise customer use cases currently constrained by network availability and bandwidth at far-reaching locations. When edge compute is combined with 5G access and SD-WAN connections to upstream clouds as a secure, managed service via an abstraction layer, it opens up new value-added market opportunities, and enables the creation of an “intelligent edge.” Taking an operator's perspective, this talk will cover the challenges, opportunities and market/technology gaps in realizing edge compute and reflect on representative industry use cases driving near-term benefits.

Speaker:

, Director Enterprise Architecture and Practices, Dish Network

 

Future Briefing—Edge Compute and the CDN: CDN Edge Compute Strategies

Monday, June 1: 4:00 p.m. - 4:20 p.m. (ET) / 1:00 p.m. - 1:20 p.m. (PT)

With a presentation from one of the most scaled-up and distributed edge compute networks, this session will provide a forward-looking view on their strategy and the types of services and applications they will be incorporating into their edge compute proposition.

Speaker:

, Vice President of Edge Strategy & Solution Architecture, Limelight Networks

 

The Future of the Edge: Fireside Chat

Monday, June 1: 4:20 p.m. - 4:40 p.m. (ET) / 1:20 p.m. - 1:40 p.m. (PT)

Content Delivery Summit chair Dom Robinson will convene the speakers from the Future Briefings for a Q&A session, encouraging the audience to put their questions to the panel (and to the floor) and explore not only the points made in the previous three sessions, but to see what these leading industry minds think is around the corner for the sector.

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speakers:

, Director Enterprise Architecture and Practices, Dish Network

, Vice President of Edge Strategy & Solution Architecture, Limelight Networks

 

Closing Plenary Discussion

Monday, June 1: 4:40 p.m. - 5:15 p.m. (ET) / 1:40 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. (PT)

The Content Delivery Summit chair and moderators join for a recap of the day's key takeaways and analysis of the top opportunities and challenges facing the content delivery space. They will also take questions from the floor to ensure that all delegates have had a chance to raise any topics of interest. At the end of panel, we'll transition to an open discussion and encourage virtual networking among attendees.

Moderator:

, VP & Editor-in-Chief, Streaming Media


Speakers:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream, USA

, CEO, Axello

A Featured Event At