Agenda

Monday, Nov 8

Content Delivery Summit

 

Chairman's Welcome

Monday, November 8: 8:50 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. (ET) / 5:50 a.m. - 6:00 a.m. (PT)

Eric Schumacher Rasmussen, VP & Editor-in-Chief of Streaming Media welcomes attendees to Content Delivery Summit 2021 and introduces the program chairman, Dom Robinson. Dom will set out the overall narrative for the day's discussions along with co-hosts Tim Siglin and Mark de Jong.

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speakers:

, CEO, Axello

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream Research Foundation

, Zenlayer

 

Opening Keynote: Inside the House of Mouse - A closer look at Disney Streaming's multi-CDN deployment strategy

Monday, November 8: 9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. (ET) / 6:00 a.m. - 6:30 a.m. (PT)

Eric Friedrich and Rob Colantuoni discuss the challenges of delivery architecture and orchestration using a multi-CDN mesh.
Speakers:

, CDN Performance Architect, Disney Streaming

, Engineering Manager, Content, Disney Streaming

 

Energy, Submarine, Fibre Carrier Interconnect

Monday, November 8: 9:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. (ET) / 6:30 a.m. - 7:00 a.m. (PT)

This session follows on the keynote and will focus on the real world availability of these fundamental infrastructure services that underpin all CDN operations, and the complexities to consider when deploying POPs around the world.

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speakers:

, CEO, NJFX

, CEO, Confluence Networks

 

Core IP Strategies

Monday, November 8: 10:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. (ET) / 7:00 a.m. - 7:30 a.m. (PT)

A discussion about carrier connectivity and IP network availability for CDN services around the US and the Global Market as a whole. This session will explore the current transit and peering market around the world, and look at optimal paths for varying scales of CDN deployment - including in-housing and out-sourcing bandwidth services.

Moderator:

, CEO, Axello


Speakers:

, Co-Founder, Executive Vice President, Tulix

, Chief Revenue Officer, Millicast

, Senior Director, Product Management, Lumen

 

Update on GreeningofStreaming activities related to CDNs

Monday, November 8: 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. (ET) / 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 a.m. (PT)

Greening of Streaming is a members association established to focus discussion about sustainability and power efficiency across the streaming ecosystem. For those who have followed CDS for some years you will know that this association was born from discussions at CDS and it is now its own entity. In this, our first of three sessions involving multi-stakeholder industry groups in our sector today, Adam Curwin leads a panel of GoS members to talk about key issues and the plans to address them.

Speakers:

, Executive Director, GreeningofStreaming.org

, Director, Visual Cloud, Content Delivery Network Segment, Intel

, Varnish

 

Compute / Memory and Storage / Silicon / High Density

Monday, November 8: 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. (ET) / 8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. (PT)

Silicon is a key element of any distributed compute strategy. In the CDN market, the option to offload ‘heavy maths’ to GPUs and FPGA is central to achieving low power requirements, and higher density. This panel will explore the options that are emerging and the applications that they can address in the CDN from video encoding to edge AI and VR.

Moderator:

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream Research Foundation


Speaker:

, Director, Visual Cloud, Content Delivery Network Segment, Intel

 

Operator CDN / Mobile, Telco, Cable and Satellite

Monday, November 8: 11:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. (ET) / 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. (PT)

Telcos are ever diversifying their video service offerings to consumers with constant innovation in the access networks. Cable is leveraging DOCSIS and Multicast ABR, 5G is gradually taking off and even the LEO satellite markets are all driving some significant strides in the innovation in the ISP and end user connectivity layer. We talk to several sector experts about these emerging technologies, what they are and how they work, and how they will drive new opportunities to work with, or ‘be’ the CDN to provide the last mile delivery to the consumer.

Moderator:

, CEO, Axello


Speakers:

, CEO & Co-Founder, Touchstream

, VP Product Strategy, NetSkrt Systems

, VP, Video Strategy, Harmonic

 

Chairman's Pick--Fireside with Dom Robinson and a Special Guest

Monday, November 8: 12:00 p.m. - 12:30 p.m. (ET) / 9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. (PT)

Picking a key player from our industry for an informal chat to hear their expert opinion and views on a range of topics that will be relevant to all those working in the CDN sector.


Alex Davies, Senior Analyst at Rethink.TV joins CDS Chairman Dom Robinson for a broad look at trends in CDN and associated sectors, and a bit of a deeper dive into a recent report he has recently published looking at emerging ‘Decentralised-CDNs’ .

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speaker:

, Editor and Senior Analyst, Rethink Technology Research

 

Update on Streaming Video Alliance activities related to CDNs

Monday, November 8: 12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. (ET) / 9:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. (PT)

Our regular afternoon catchup with the SVA activities provides a regular insight into where the industry is collaborating on engineering challenges, and focuses on how content publishers and CDNs can work together to ensure the best possible video delivery to the end consumer.

Speaker:

, Executive Director, Disney Streaming

 

Layer 4 in the CDN - Caching / Media Serving / Compute

Monday, November 8: 1:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. (ET) / 10:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. (PT)

While CDNs assist with content delivery over networks, the service layer they bring to the networks adds value in providing ‘applications’ such as caching, media serving and increasingly more complex ‘compute’ capabilities. This session explores the ‘Application layer’ that CDNs are building and offering.

Moderator:

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream Research Foundation


Speakers:

, Founder and Chief Scientist, Compira

, VP Business Development, Broadpeak

, Celebrium

 

Video Workflow evolution within the CDN

Monday, November 8: 1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. (ET) / 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. (PT)

In this regular feature session at the heart of CDS we talk to some of the largest Global CDNs about their strategies, successes and challenges in meeting the ever growing demand for high quality video. This is always one of the most ‘holistic’ CDN sessions of the day, and the video emphasis is always very pertinent to our co-located StreamingMedia audience too!

Moderator:

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK


Speakers:

, Principal Architect, Akamai Technologies

, Principal Sales Engineer, Fastly

, Limelight Networks

 

Update on CDN Alliance activities related to CDNs

Monday, November 8: 2:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. (ET) / 11:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. (PT)

Another key organisation that has emerged recently and been driven by CDS co-host Mark de Jong, the newly formed CDN Alliance is the CDN industry’s own association that has been formed to be the ‘voice of the industry’. In this session Mark introduces the CDNA and, together with his panel, outlines some of the broad challenges that the CDN Industry faces and how they are addressing them.

Speakers:

, Chairman, CDN Alliance

, Secretary, CDN Alliance

, Treasurer, CDN Alliance

 

CDN Management / operating at scale: Orchestration and Operations

Monday, November 8: 3:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. (ET) / 12:00 p.m. - 12:30 p.m. (PT)

Today’s CDN infrastructure is coordinated and serviced by a complex distributed computing environment. This session will explore different ways that the orchestration and operation of these environments can be achieved.

Moderator:

, CEO, Axello


Speakers:

, Chief Product Officer, ATEME

, Product Manager, Qwilt

, Zycada

 

QoS management and CDN switching

Monday, November 8: 3:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. (ET) / 12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. (PT)

Multi-CDN has been a ‘thing’ for a number of years now. Latency is also a hot buzzword, and ‘buffering’ remains the enemy of all of us (particularly our kids)! We talk to a group of experts who are focussed specifically on ensuring that Publishers, CDNs and telcos can provide the best quality of service to the consumer.

Moderator:

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream Research Foundation


Speakers:

, Chief Architect, TAG Video Systems

, VP Product Management, Agile Content

, VP, Solutions, Bitmovin

 

Future Briefings : Network, Cloud and CDN Perspectives of Edge Compute

Monday, November 8: 4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. (ET) / 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. (PT)

We hear from operators that are leveraging expertise in running at-scale distributed compute networks and edge-compute to facilitate content delivery.. As edge computing evolves and emerges as one of the leading "next- generation" services in demand today, these sessions are a must-attend for those who want to leverage their expertise in CDN compute and network operations to broaden their service offerings.
Briefing 1: Network Perspective
4:00 p.m. - 4:20 p.m. In this fireside chat, Elsa Pine, Global Sales Executive| Emerging Technologies| Edge Infrastructure at EdgeConneX discusses the real-time, transformative evolution of the edge as data center operators work to satiate the need for edge-enabled applications, both known (Autonomous Vehicles, IoT and Big Data analysis) and the unknown - the edge applications of the future.
Speaker:

, Global Sales Executive, Emerging Technologies, Edge Infrastructure, EdgeConneX

Briefing 2: CDN Perspective
4:20 p.m. - 4:40 p.m.

Five Trends Changing The Future Of CDN

Nowadays CDN tends to go beyond its originally purpose. All of us are facing the impressive growth of heavy content in many areas of our lives. 4K is replacing with 8K and VR videos. The sizes of game downloads and software updates are continuously increasing. As users we’re used to consume only well-made content in hi-res appearance. All these things demand a great bandwidth of caching network. But at the same time, the only content delivery is not enough to get customers satisfied. They are looking for a complex and constant-evolving solution with edge workers, advanced security options and much more

Speaker:

, G-Core Labs

Briefing 3: Production Perspective
4:40 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

This session will explore how media production will make use of emerging 5G technologies. We will explore different 5G architectures and how their benefits and how they compare to current solutions in use today. Media creation has several key requirements that are challenging to deliver, these include high bandwidth uplink, low latency and timing and we will highlight these and look at how 5G may be engineered to support these.

Speaker:

, BBC R&D

 

Closing Fireside Chat & Open Discussion

Monday, November 8: 5:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. (ET) / 2:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. (PT)

The Content Delivery Summit chair and moderators join for a recap of the day's key takeaways and analysis of the top opportunities and challenges facing the content delivery space. They will also take questions from the floor to ensure that all delegates have had a chance to raise any topics of interest.

At the end of the panel, we'll transition to an open discussion and encourage virtual networking among attendees.

Moderator:

, VP & Editor-in-Chief, Streaming Media


Speakers:

, CEO, Axello

, Founding Executive Director, Help Me Stream Research Foundation

, Director and Creative Firestarter, id3as and Contributing Editor, StreamingMedia.com, UK

Don't Miss These Special Online Events